Crochet Magazines

Fall 2012 issue of Interweave Crochet

Fall 2012 issue of Interweave Crochet

Crochet isn’t limited to the yarn isle at Michael’s, they’re also a hot topic on the magazine stand.

At SJSU, I’m president of the magazine club where a group of students interested in the industry collaborate to get their feet in the door as professionals. With an interest in magazines, I’ve found crochet magazines to be one of my favorites. I found my first crochet-themed magazine at Michael’s. What initially attracted me to the magazine was it’s cool colored cover page and surprisingly, the bright red hair of the woman pictured. There were minimal subheadlines and not a bunch of excessive page numbers flooding the page.

Flipping through the magazine, there was primarily text for patterns; which I expected. As I continued to flip through the pages, there were many fashionable women modeling different crocheted creations. Of course there were also advertisements for crochet-related items but they weren’t overwhelming like most magazines. My favorite part of the magazine was a section featuring stretches for crocheting. The four-page spread titled “No Pain! Just Gain.” laid out different stretches such as the working curve and back seated spinal twist. I tried out some of the stretches and they proved to be very helpful!

There are five editors at Interweave Crochet. Kim Werker founded the magazine and Marcy Smith is the current editor. Smith learned to crochet when she was only eight years old. While my interests are being an editor for a magazine like Time or Newsweek, I would love to be an editor for a crochet magazine like Interweave Crochet. I’m glad to see crafts magazines are still a popular niche and are still doing well on the stands!

Leave a comment

Filed under Knitter's Toolbox, Resources

Leave a comment